Princess Ever After || #TheWriteReads #TheRosewoodChronicles

Hello and welcome to my stop on Princess Ever After Blog Tour!

I am always excited to join #thewritereads for this book tour. Thanks to Penguin UK for sending a beautiful physical copy of this book to me. This is the fifth and final book in The Rosewood Chronicles. I really loved the first book Undercover Princess which I read earlier this month and it was great to continue following these great group of friends.

Title: Princess Ever After

Author: Connie Glynn

Publication date: 17th February 2022

Publisher: Penguin

Blurb

Return to the magical world of The Rosewood Chronicles in the fifth and final instalment of this gorgeous series for fans of The Princess Diaries and Harry Potter.

Ellie is a rebellious princess who is no longer hiding her real identity. Lottie is her Portman, wishing that she could shield Ellie from the threat of Leviathan. Jamie is Ellie’s Partizan, a lifelong bodyguard sworn to protect the princess at any cost – but has mysteriously disappeared. Not all of the trio have made it back to Rosewood Hall. Can they be reunited? And at what cost? With the crown at risk, the stakes have never been higher…

Purchase LinkAMAZON

Review

Oh the magic of love, family and friendship!

I have to start by saying that I have only read the first book in the series and it made me slightly confused going into this book but once I got back into it and the characters that I fell in love with in book one, I knew exactly where I stood and what was happening.

Basically Lottie is no longer the Ellie’s Portman and they have split up with Lottie returning back to Rosewood and Ellie to another posh school in Maradova. This is where things really kick off with Lottie finding out that a deadly plan/an assassination of the current King and Queen would happen at Golden Flower Festival. She and her friends device a plan to thwart the assassination which they think is Jamie’s father’s plan. This is where we also get a bit more about Jamie’s feelings for Lottie and Ellie’s feelings for Lottie. No, it is not a love triangle it is a straight line! I will not go too much into it because I don’t want to spoil this book any more.

This book was a nice conclusion based on the events of book one. I loved the way fairy-tale was weaved with reality and magic. It was such a quick and easy read, I do have to say that some of the reveals that we had in this book were things that I guessed in the first book which just made it easier for me to get into this book.

While our characters have grown a lot from the first book, you still feel like they are still 14, I mean that is one of the things that struck me as strange but what do I know about teenagers these days. With that said, this book would technically be suitable for middle grade to younger adults (11 – 15 and older).

I got to one part of the book and I had to note it down, everyone is queer and I love that for them. It was cool to see them explore their sexuality without it consuming their whole life and it being a reason for hate. I loved that. It is the kind of peace that I wish for queer people!

Rating

I gave this book 3.8 out of 5 stars

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.